Guest post: my mom, a retired English teacher, reflects on recent changes in education

The situation has got to begin to reverse. It just has to! This retired teacher influenced hundreds, maybe thousands of children who were blessed to have had her as their teacher.

teacherbiz

Here’s a guest post by my mom, a former Teacher of the Year, who laments the effects education “reform” is having on students, teachers, and education in general:  

I began teaching in 1973. I retired July 1, 2013.  I taught every grade and every level of secondary English (yes, we called it English, not language arts or LAL) during my career, which I loved with a passion.  I am so fortunate to have had a profession I felt so devoted to, one that allowed me to engage with everything I loved: literature, writing, and young people of diverse backgrounds, interests and abilities. I have often though that without my rich career and all I have learned from it, I might be a much different person, much poorer in my understanding of human nature, adolescence, history, sociology, the arts, the creative process, and the complexity surrounding every facet of learning…

View original post 808 more words

About kindergarteninterlude

I am the mom of two teenage boys and I am a kindergarten teacher. In my classroom, I have heard many nuggets of wisdom and beauty from my 5 and 6 year olds. They have also had me laughing out loud with things they say and do. They are intelligent, creative, honest, kind, compassionate, funny and profound. My students amaze me every day! On this blog, I'll share some of the things they say and do. You'll be amazed, too!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

